Skip to content Skip to left sidebar Skip to right sidebar Skip to footer

Library offers services to adults in community

By Selena Harmon

“Learning never exhausts the mind.”

– Leonardo da Vinci

Today’s job market can be tight, creating competitive situations that demand stand-out skills from applicants. One way to set yourself apart is continued learning. That’s why Unicoi County Public Library has recruited instructors to lead online courses chock-full of relevant information. The live virtual setting allows access to real-time demonstrations, questions and answers. Participants may engage instructors anytime during the session, much like in-person learning. Since January, the library has been delivering free, live webinars on such topics as: Computer, Internet, & Email Basics; Microsoft Word & Excel; The Cloud; Website Design; Digital Photography; Job Readiness; TN R.E.A.D.S. (Regional eBook and Audiobook Download System); and TEL (Tennessee Electronic Library). There is something for everyone! For those who couldn’t or can’t attend live sessions, webinars are archived on the library’s Facebook page (@UnicoiCountyPublicLibrary).

You can watch, pause, rewind, and repeat. They are there for your learning convenience. As always, feel free to contact the library with questions or for further assistance, Monday-Friday, 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. We are here and happy to help! Call 423-743-6533.

Book Boosts

It’s time to talk books! This week’s selections are for fans of historic fiction. Marie Benedict, author of the bestselling novel The Only Woman in the Room, has penned The Mystery of Mrs. Christie, a work based on the strange 11-day disappearance of author Agatha Christie in 1926. Facts surrounding the incident have long fascinated and perplexed people, and fueled fascinating speculations. Benedict’s story will appeal to readers who enjoy Kate Quinn, Lara Prescott, and Fiona Davis. If you’re a fan of historic thrillers but haven’t read Greer Macallister, you are missing out on one of the best authors in the genre. Her new book, The Arctic Fury, follows an all-female crew’s frigid expedition and the subsequent murder trial. Alternating timelines steady the pace as the mystery unfolds. I would also recommend Macallister’s 2019 novel Woman 99. It’s a fine piece of writing!

Library Announcements

The library will be closed Monday, Feb. 15, in observance of Presidents’ Day.