Skip to content Skip to left sidebar Skip to right sidebar Skip to footer

Smith, players receive conference honors

From Staff Reports

The season may be over, but the accolades continued for the Unicoi County High School basketball programs.

The Three Rivers Conference recently announced awards received by players and coaches – Blue Devils and Lady Devils were among the individuals honored.

For the Blue Devils, head coach Michael Smith was named Coach of the Year and senior guard Trevor Hensley was named Player of the Year.

Blue Devils chosen for the all-conference team were: junior Gavin Casey, senior Troy Podvin and freshman Brock Thompson.

Sophomore Blue Devil Brett Lingefelt received conference honorable mention honors.

“It is an honor to receive this award,” Smith told The Erwin Record.

Rounding out the all-conference team were: Adam Davison, Ethan Whitley and Dustin Bartley from Sullivan East; Blake Atwood and Bud Icenhour from Johnson County; Eric Wilson and Adam Cornett from Elizabethton; Jordan Self from Sullivan Central; Ethan Ward from Sullivan South; and Bryce Carter from Happy Valley. Sullivan South’s Cole Layne was named Underclassman of the Year.

The Blue Devils finished the season with an overall record of 22-13. They won the Three Rivers Conference regular season title, District 1-AA tournament and came in second in the Region 1-AA tournament before falling to Knox Fulton in the sectional round.

“I thought we had a great season,” Smith previously said. “We met most of the goals we set at the first of the year. We fell a little short in the region, but made a substate game and gave ourselves a 32-minute chance to make it to the state tournament.”

• • •

For the Lady Devils, senior post Halie Padgett was named the league’s Player of the Year. Junior guard Chloe Powers was selected to the all-conference team. Junior guard Kaylee Hendrickson received honorable mention honors.

The Lady Devils finished the season with a 20-10 overall record. They came in third place in the conference regular season and took second place in the District 1-AA tournament. Their season came to an end with a loss to Region 1-AA champion Greeneville in the tournament’s first round.

Rounding out the all-conference team were: Abbey Crawford, Avery Leming and Peyton Sams from Sullivan Central; Alex Harris and Mollie Leslie from Sullivan South; Kylee Wolfe from Sullivan East; Kaylen Shell from Elizabethton; Courtney Brooks from Johnson County; and Adrienne Henegar from Happy Valley.

Johnson County’s Sadie Stout was named Newcomer of the Year. Sullivan South coach Torey Haile and Sullivan Central coach Kristi Walling shared Coach of the Year honors.