Skip to content Skip to left sidebar Skip to right sidebar Skip to footer

Devils named to all-region team

By Keeli Parkey

Several Unicoi County High School football players have been recognized for their performances during the 2016 season.

Blue Devils chosen for the Region 1-3A first team were: Kendrick Williams, Dylan Lewis, Jacob Smith, Michael Howell, Nick Fender and Michael Smith, according to information released from region representatives. The region’s coaches voted on the awards.

Blue Devils receiving all-region honorable mention recognition were: Justin Laughren, Brett Lemmon, Shaddon Peavyhouse, Dylon Burgess and Bradley Edwards.

Blue Devil Cameron Higgins was also named to the region’s academic team.

The Blue Devils finished the season with a record of 5-6 and qualified for the playoffs. Their season ended with first-round playoff loss to Alcoa. Alcoa has advanced to the 3A championship game, scheduled to be played on Friday, Dec. 2, in Cookeville. They will face Liberty.

• • •

Chosen by the Region 1-3A coaches as player of the year was Corey Russell from Elizabethton High School. Other individual awards went to: Justin Howard from Northview Academy, offensive player of the year; Cameron Coleman from Elizabethton, defensive player of the year; Cliff Cole from Northview Academy, lineman of the year; Nicky Sisto from Pigeon Forge High School, special teams player of the year; Justin Lane from West Greene High School, athlete of the year; Carter Everett from Elizabethton, newcomer of the year; and Todd Loveday from Northview Academy, coach of the year.