Skip to content Skip to left sidebar Skip to right sidebar Skip to footer

Scott Bradford retains seat on gas utility board

Scott Bradford won the Saturday, Feb. 6, election for commissioner of the Unicoi County Gas Utility District.
After ballots were tallied after the 5 p.m. close of voting, UCGUD General Manager Tim Whitson announced that Bradford was the winner in the two-man race.
Bradford defeated Howard Street, a former commissioner, 256-150.
Despite being an incumbent, this was Bradford’s first time to win the seat through an election. He was appointed to the board after Whitson left the board in August of 2008 to become general manager.
Whitson said voting was down from last year’s election, and he attributed that to two factors – snowy conditions during the voting time (12:10-5 p.m.) and that it was a two-man race. Last year’s race for two board seats had five candidates vying for the spots.
The UCGUD board of directors is made up of Bradford, Don Honeycutt, Burnie Jones, Mark Lafever and J.W. Tipton.