Skip to content Skip to left sidebar Skip to right sidebar Skip to footer

New members elected to Erwin, Unicoi BMAs

The boards of mayor and aldermen in the towns of Unicoi and Erwin got some new faces in the Nov. 2 election.
Newcomers to politics Robbie Sullins Jr. in Erwin and Michael “Bobby” Phillips in Unicoi won seats on the boards.
In Erwin, three seats were up for election, and incumbent Mark Lafever earned the most votes with 811. Current board members Lester Bailey and Gary Chandler were both running in their first election, as they both had been appointed to the BMA by Mayor Brushy Lewis after the resignations of aldermen in the middle of their terms.
Only Bailey was able to win election on his own terms, coming in third with 668 votes.
Sullins won the second highest number of votes with 682.
Chandler came in a distant fifth with only 505 votes.
Jim Stevens, a former alderman, received 507 votes for fourth place – but still not enough to win a seat.
Newcomers to politics Shane O’Hare, 211 votes, and Rob Martin, 179 votes, also came up short.
In Unicoi, where two seats were up for grabs, Alderman Mark Ramsey easily won re-election, garnering 691 votes, but his fellow incumbent Ken Kisiel was defeated by newcomer Michael “Bobby” Phillips. Kisiel received 389 votes, and Phillips got 405.
In summary …
Elected to the Erwin Board of Mayor and Aldermen are Mark Lafever, Robie Sullins Jr. and Lester Bailey Jr. They take office Dec. 1
Elected to the Unicoi Board of Mayor and Aldermen are Mark Ramsey and Michael “Bobby” Phillips.