Skip to content Skip to left sidebar Skip to right sidebar Skip to footer

Members chosen for foundation board

The UCMH Health Inc. Board, the former board for the Unicoi County Memorial Hospital, held a called meeting on Wednesday, Nov. 26, to nominate five people to the newly created board that will serve the Unicoi County Foundation for Healthcare, Inc.
“The foundation will be used to address unmet healthcare needs and address the needs of citizens of Erwin and Unicoi County,” said chairman Roland Bailey.
Of the seven person board, regulations call for two individuals to be from Mountain States Health Alliance (MSHA). The remaining five are selected by the original UCMH Board.
The five members who will serve on the new board that were nominated are: Roland Bailey, chairman, Charlene O’Dell, former director of the Clinchfield Senior Adult Center, Mitch Manuel, a local attorney, Marie Rice, current chairperson of the Unicoi County Commission and Dennis Bokemeier.
The two board members from MSHA are Tracy Byers, current Unicoi County Memorial Hospital Administrator and Dwayne Taylor, CEO of MSHA Southeast.
The aforementioned individuals make up the new board for the Unicoi County Foundation for Healthcare, Inc.
The board and foundation were created as part of the sale of Unicoi County Memorial Hospital to MSHA.
The foundation received $1,000,000 from the agreement and the Town of Erwin and Unicoi County each received $750,000.