Skip to content Skip to left sidebar Skip to right sidebar Skip to footer

Early voting gets underway

Early voting for the Nov. 4 election is currently underway at the Unicoi County Election Commission office, 106 Nolichucky Ave., Erwin.
Early voting, which runs from Oct. 15 through Oct. 30, will be available from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through Friday. Voters may also cast their early ballots on two Saturdays – Oct. 18 and Oct. 25 – from 9 a.m. to noon.
The Nov. 4 ballot will include races in the state and federal general election, Town of Unicoi municipal election and Town of Erwin municipal election. Also on the ballot for Erwin residents will be two referendums – one for on-premises alcohol sales and one for package stores.
Gov. Bill Haslam, the Republican Party nominee, is seeking re-election against several opponents, including Democratic Party nominee Charles V. “Charlie” Brown. Other gubernatorial candidates on the ballot include: Constitution Party candidate Shaun Crowell; Green Party candidate Isa Infante; and Independent candidates Steven Damon Coburn, John Jay Hooker and Daniel T. Lewis.
In the federal general election, U.S. Sen. Lamar Alexander, the Republican Party nominee, is seeking re-election against several challengers, including Democratic Party nominee Gordon Ball. Other candidates running against Alexander are: Constitution Party nominee Joe Wilmoth; Green Party nominee Martin Pleasant; and Independent candidates Tom Emerson, Jr., Edmund L. Gauthier, Joshua James, Danny Page, Bartholomew J. Phillips, C. Salekin, Eric Schechter and Rick Tyler.
U.S. Rep. Phil Roe, the Republican nominee, is also seeking re-election. Running against Roe are Green Party nominee Robert N. Smith and Independent candidates Robert D. Franklin and Michael D. Salyer.
State Sen. Rusty Crowe is running unopposed for another term to represent the Third Senatorial District in the Tennessee Senate.
John B. Holsclaw, Jr., the Republican nominee, faces Rob Martin, the Democratic Party nominee and Erwin resident, in the race to represent the Fourth Representative District in the Tennessee House of Representatives.
• • •
Six individuals are in the race for the three available seats on the Town of Erwin Board of Mayor and Aldermen.
The candidates are: Ron Arnold, Michael Baker, Gary Chandler, Virgil Moore, David Seagroves and Stephen Wilson.
• • •
Three individuals are in the race for the two available seats on the Town of Unicoi Board of Mayor and Aldermen.
The candidates are Kathy Bullen, Phil Hensley and Jeff Linville.
• • •
According to information from the election commission, all voters must present a photo ID when voting.
The ID must contain the voter’s name and photograph. Valid IDs include: Tennessee driver’s license (valid or expired); U.S. Passport (valid or expired); Tennessee Department of Safety photo ID; federal or Tennessee government-issued photo ID; U.S. military photo ID; Tennessee gun permit card with photo.
For more information about the photo ID law, contact the election commission or visit the Tennessee Division of Elections website:
For more information, call the Unicoi County Election Commission at 743-6521.